Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that country ought to focus in producing food that has been consumed by the their citizen instead of importing the food to other countries. In my opinion, I agree to this statement as the measure of this will improve economy of the individual country.

To maintain the economy, many countries are increasing their trade with other international countries. Import and export has become the major aspect among countries in order to earn more. Vegetables and fruits import has been increased in under-developed countries, with this the developed countries that is exporting the product will earn more from tax benefits. Consuming food from other countries will deliberately decrease the consumption of local food which eventually can decrease the economy of the local country.

On the other hand, if countries focus more on producing local food instead of exported foods, than automatically the consumption of the local food will increase as the demand will rise up and eventually the supply will risen. There would be more opportunities for local businesses in selling the food that they are producing. Additionally, foods that are originate from the individual country such as mangoes, which are produce more in India will be consumed by the Indian people. Since the fruits will be eaten by the local citizen the quality will also improved, as the high quality of foods will not be exported to other countries.

In Conclusion, some foods should be imported to other countries, however majority of foods must be produced and consumed locally. Government can play the vital role in maintaining the import and export and increasing the tax rate for the export can be the solution.