Some governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food. What do you think about this?

Higher consumption of junk food is the major reason why the world is suffering from a serious problem like obesity. Some people believe that the government should impose higher taxes on junk food so that they can solve the issue of obesity. This essay will discuss why I support the motion which includes enforcing the fast-food companies to pay a higher number of tariffs.

Firstly, raising taxes will discourage people from consuming junk food which will stop them from getting obese. People tend to eat unhealthy fast food because it is cheap to buy. If the government starts imposing taxes on junk food, the price of them will rise which will deter people from eating them. For example, the Australian government has put a higher tariff on sugary drinks and fast food. As a result, the consumption of these unhealthy food has gone down there. Other countries should follow the trend that Australia has set on junk food so that they can solve the issue of obesity.

Furthermore, on a practical level, this initiative would provide the government with more funding that they can use to raise awareness of the negative sides of consuming junk food among general people. Higher consumption of junk food means that people are eating more sugar, fat, and salt which can result in heart diseases and strokes. Tax from fast food could be used by the government to fund advertising campaigns to deter people from eating it. For example, the Australian government often put billboards on the road which encourages people to eat more healthy foods such as fruits rather than consuming foods like burger and pizza.

In conclusion, Unhealthy food habits are having a detrimental impact on people’s health all over the world. An increase in the tariff on junk food will have a positive impact not only because it would raise the price of fast food that will discourage people from eating it, but also the government will be able to raise more awareness to tackle the issue of obesity.