Some high schools have a requirement that students must complete a certain amount of volunteer work in order to graduate. What do you think about this type of requirement? Give details to support your opinion.

While certain schools provide a choice to do volunteering work, the other schools make it mandatory. In my essay, I will share my view on this such mandatory volunteering work is important.

The volunteering work provides an opportunity for high school students to experience the various challenging situations of society and help needy people. For example, one of the programs that some schools run is to pack the food and distribute that to homeless people. The kids not only learn about the different living conditions of the people, but also learn to share with others. In a way, it helps them learn the lesson of life.

In my opinion, this is a very important lesson that every kid should learn during their high school age. The kids who do not go through this experience, many-a-times lacks empathy in their work-life or life in general as they grow up. The high school period is also the right age for the kids to start understanding such worldly matters, which can come through volunteering work.

Hence, I believe, schools should make at least a certain amount of volunteering work mandatory in order to graduate. This will help us build a society that encourages sharing, and is more caring towards other human beings.