Some high schools have a requirement that students must complete a certain amount of volunteer work in order to graduate. What do you think about this type of requirement? Give details to support your opinion.

It is a prerequisite in several high schools that candidates must finish a definite number of unpaid services to achieve graduation. However, I would argue that, while it is helpful, it should remain a students’ choice.

One of the most important benefits of community service for high school students is that it prepares them for the future. This is because it provides them with an opportunity to first-hand experience the problems of the real world. For instance, if a student involves himself/herself voluntarily teaching classes for underprivileged people, he/she might be able to become a better teacher in the future by examining the needs of their audience. As a result, they usually become well equipped for future challenges. Conversely, they might struggle at beginning of their career if they do not have the relevant expertise.

Nevertheless, it is vital that this service should not be made compulsory to fix the number of volunteering hours for course completion as this may breed resentment among them. The reason for this is that people are often naturally averse to doing anything which is imposed upon them, especially without reward. As a consequence, they might resist participating in such activities going forward. In contrast, if they are paid for their service, it might produce a feeling of being valued and satisfaction in them.

In conclusion, although voluntary work at high school may carry the benefit of improved future prospects, I think it should not be made mandatory as this may foster the negativity towards such tasks.