Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Although advertisement has become an important part of every sphere of life, I believe that its different practices being used are immoral and cannot be accepted. This essay will first discuss how it seems we cannot avoid it and then discuss it from social and health point of view.

First of all, the advertisement is everywhere, it is on TV, on the internet, on the streets and even on our mobile phones. Companies are leveraging technology to advertise their products in numerous ways. Because of this, we cannot avoid them while we want to. Consequently, it goes to a point where it became intrusive and irritating. For example, without our consent, mobile companies are broadcasting promotional messages after specific time intervals, and now they are even started calling us.

Secondly, from the perspective of parents, I believe that advertisement created more problems than benefits. People are being enticed to buy products which are not in need of by their children tempted by artistic advertising campaigns. Moreover, advert of luxurious items creates a sense of deprivation among people who cannot afford them. Similarly, ads of alcoholic products are encouraging excessive consumption and underage drinking, yet restrictions are not being imposed by the government in the same way as on tobacco products.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that advertisement has taken such a shape that we cannot exclude it from our life .therefore, we are continuously being disturbed and tempted with the different form of advertisement and that’s why this is not a merit.