Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Although advertisement has become an important part of every sphere of life, I believe that its different practices using are immoral and cannot be accepted. This essay will first discuss how it seems we cannot avoid unsolicitous advertisement and then, discuss it from social and health’s point of view.

First of all, it is not good that the advertisement is everywhere. It is on TV, on the internet, on the streets and even on our mobile phones. The TV is being used as a medium for hidden marketing as we watch unconsciously the display of products in a very artistic way. Advertisement boards are displayed on our streets which became full of their litter after some time and this is not good for our environment because they are made of disposable materials. Moreover, Companies are leveraging technology to advertise their products in numerous ways. For example, without our consent, mobile companies are broadcasting promotional messages after specific time intervals, and now they are even started calling us. Consequently, it goes to a point where it became intrusive and irritating. Because of this, a majority of people thinks these kinds of invasive and unsolicitous advertisement are unethical and cannot be accepted.

Other aspects of advertisement that I think is condemnable, it is creating social and health problems in our civilized societies. It encourages people to buy things which they do not need or they cannot afford, and because of this, their parents face financial pressure. Such as, children and particular youngster are being enticed to buy expensive toys and musical instruments. In addition to that, ads of alcoholic products are encouraging excessive consumption and underage drinking, yet restrictions are not being imposed by the government in the same way as on the tobacco products.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that advertisement has taken such a shape that we cannot exclude it from our life .therefore, we are continuously being disturbed and tempted with the different form of advertisement and that’s why this is not a merit.