Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Nowadays, there are some types of advertisements which proves to be violating ethics and are not tolerable by our community. In my opinion, I strongly believe in this statement as commercials are interfering with our privacy and creating artificial wants.

A good reason to advocate the idea of not supporting such advertisement is that it disturbs the personal space in a way which is considered as unethically wrong. Nowadays, websites record user patterns of interaction with certain products from where they predict future wants and sell this information to companies related with that product. Then these companies, with tailor-made commercials, exploit the personal information bought from websites and use it to sell their products. Furthermore, with the latest technology, even microphones from mobiles are used to record the private conversation of the user to identify specific words which signal purchase requirement which later on converted into a targeted advertisement. For instance, if a user clicks on a product and leaves the page, this product starts to pop-up on all websites and even emails which consequently violates the personal information of a person by leaking it to profit-making companies.

Another reason to consider is that advertisement companies are subtly persuading consumers to buy products which they do not need. To make this possible, companies are linking themselves with popular celebrities to creates an image of power, success, and glamour for their products. People just buy these products to show their social status and to influence people around them. Sometimes harmful products are also being portrayed as a luxury possession which not only deteriorates the health of customers but also encourage other businesses to start investing in such health-affecting products. Moreover, such commercials are creating a gap between rich and poor as the rich people would easily afford these products and poor community would start suffering from an inferiority complex which may lead them to indulge in criminal activities to be able to buy these fancy products regardless of their need.

Given this argument, it is reasonable to conclude that companies are crossing the line by using unprofessional means to sell their products without taking any ethical rules into consideration and this will never be accepted by the community.