In some offices, employees work in enclosed workstations or cubicles. Other offices have a more open design, in which there are no walls separating employees from their coworkers. Which type of arrangement do you think is most effective? Explain, giving reasons to support your answer.

It is true that working area pays a vital role to the workers, especially the one working in an office. I believe that different office designs like using the traditional partitions, or modern open area, could make different effect in terms of enthusiasm, productivity and loyalty to workers.

On the one hand, I believe that the workers might find more safety, stablity and privacy when working in a traditional partitioned area. Moreover, they trend to more concentrate on their work when they stayed in an area surrounded by something. For example, as I remembered when I had worked at a large company before, I never interrupted or distracted by others, I can easily work hard on my own work stayed in my own enclosed area, even there were many staff working at the same time.

On the other hand, many workers feel that working in modern open area could easy the communication between their own teammates or even different teams. It is undeniable that workers might have more contacts after taking off the barriers which encourage workers share and voice out their ideas softly. Furthermore, with the advantage of open area, workers more likely to establish relationship among each other. For instance, when I was worked in a small company before, the office was not large enough to make any separation. Everyone can hear everyone's talking, it feels like a small family worked together.

In conclusion, while modern open design have many good points, the advantages of traditional partition design should not be ignored.