Some high schools have a requirement that students must complete a certain amount of volunteer work in order to graduate. What do you think about this type of requirement? Give details to support your opinion.

It is true that some secondary schools offer some batches of mandatory volunteer works to pupils so as to graduate. Personally I support the idea that pupils should acquire various knowledge in their school life.

There are several reasons why I believe that schools should provide different chances for pupils to being a volunteer. Firstly, I agree that there is much easier and effective way for them to learn and experience directly through being a volunteer. Secondly, life has different stages, pupils should not only focus on the school life but also the diverse social life, they should start to know more about what the world is going on outside school. For instance, when doing some volunteer works related to elderly, the pupuils will know more about what the elderly need, therefore they will care more to them in the future.

On the other hand, I believe that pupils could develop different characters through different volunteer works. They will become more confidence and positive thinking, with the successful volunteer works. Perhaps the best example of this would be my younger cousin, he likes to share the skills and experiences of being a volunteer to his classmate and friends. I remembered the last time of his sharing, he mentioned that he feels so treasure to have the opportunity of the volunteer work with some low-wages family, he knows more about the need of them and also keep his eye opened to admire what he have had.

In conclusion, I agree that the secondary schools should provide a volunteer work to pupils, but should adjust the quantities and should not be mandatory.