Some parents believe that child should not waste time by reading entertainment books but instead they should spend time to read educational books only. What is your opinion about this?

Today, people have diverse book options to read. However, while some parents think that children should read only academic books, in my opinion, entertainment books are beneficial to children's intellectual development which is an essential skill in both academic and future work success.

Communication skill is one of the intellectual skills which can be improved significantly while reading. When the children read different typed books such as from academic to entertainment book she expands her vocabulary storage. The more vocabulary means, the better verbal skills. She also improves her writing skills with imitating the writer’s style and vocabulary. All these advanced speaking and writing abilities lead to better communication and self-expression which help her to stand-alone from peers in school as well as in work life in the future.

Another critical soft skill improved by book reading is creativity. Due to the fact that the purpose of academic books is teaching technical information, they can not help to develop children’s imagination, but some books do like fantasy books. Harry Potter book series is an excellent example of that. Researchers have proved that children who read these books, had better performance on creative thinking. Moreover, creativity is also related to critical thinking and problem solutions. These are demanding skills in academy and workplaces nowadays. Therefore reading fantasy, science fiction or other type books have a significant role in increased creativity.

Finally, another benefit of reading for pleasure is better concentration. The more time children read, the more they want to spend time by reading. Because of that, when they read any book that interested in their free time, this activity will encourage them to further reading. Consequently, they will able to concentrate and study longer, as they get used to spending long hours for reading. Furthermore, this spare time activity is an effective way to relieve stress and have a clear mind that also leads expanded concentration level. Thus, academic and work success can be improved by reading.

In conclusion, reading for pleasure has substantial effects on the development of children’s communication, creativity skills, and concentration level. Therefore parents should allow children to read non-academic books.