Some people believe that big cities should make the transportation system free. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

it is widely believed by a group of people that the governments of the big cities should afford the public transportation fees in order to be free of charge for the public.

This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly the essay will demonstrate the benefits of making the transportation system free of charge, which are stronger than the drawbacks of it. followed by the analysis of how weak is the effect of the disadvantages.

One of the main reasons for making transportation free is, reducing the burden of the monthly expenses on people which includes transportation fees. If someone has a car, he will prefer using public transportation rather than his car to save the car fuel money, along with that this will reduce the crowd in the streets. In other words, If a family has two cars, they will not use these cars yet public transportation, so the numbers of cars will be reduced in the streets which significantly affects the traffic. It is obvious that the advantages impact positively on the public than the government that is why the advantages are stronger than the drawbacks.

On the other hand, governments will be impacted by the drawbacks because they will spend more money on the transportation aspect without getting any income. To illustrate, governments will afford all the expenses of transportation like gas, drivers' salaries, and maintenance. The other reason is, the pressure on public transportation will be increased hugely since it will be favored by most of the people and that will influence the maintenance expenses of transportation. Conversely, the drawbacks do not impact the public that is why the drawbacks are weaker than the advantages.

To conclude, Making the transportation free of charge will surely affect both persons and governments, so it is preferred that big cities with strong economy should make it free.