Some people believe that the family has a greater influence on the child's development. Others believe that other influences have a greater influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is sometimes accepted family plays a significant role in a child's development, there are some who throw a balance in favor of other factors such as television, music, and friends. However, I believe that the progress of a child is an interplay of both family and external factors.

On the one hand, people claim that children can learn moral values under the eye of their parents. As a result, they can become responsible citizens in the future. For instance, younger minds need proper guidance to survive in society. Hence, only parents can teach them as they are emotionally attached to their wards. Additionally, parents are well aware of the needs and capabilities of their blood and can teach their children in a simple way.

Moreover, children need individuals attention to learn better which is possible only when one has the blessing of having parents.

On the other hand, many factors such as television, music, and friends are thought to make an individual confident and learn more skills such as confrontation and co-ordination. In other words, a child can learn how to be independent. To illustrate, students in schools, who have a positive friend circle, are better in decision making. Furthermore, many movies are proven effective in making children aware of history and the culture of various countries. So, they widen the horizons of minds. Not only movies but the music in them also work wonders in helping the young minds to learn about the customs and the traditions of their nations. Punjabi songs, for instance, showing many areas of Punjab can persuade many to learn more about it.

In conclusion, considering both the viewpoints, I am convinced that all the above-mentioned factors are crucial in developing a child's mind in the right direction. However, parents need to supervise their wards whenever they are in the company of their friends. Giving equal importance to every factor is key to the holistic development of a child, I believe.