Some people believe that the government should spend money on art and education. Others say most schools should be privately funded. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Schools everywhere operate on the basic mechanisms of private fundings or government contributions. Some people believe the former system to be better, while others prefer the latter. I personally believe a combined system should be followed; nevertheless, this debatable topic shall further be clarified in this essay.

With education being now considered as a fundamental right, it is the duty of the government to spend for better education and art facilities for students. However, as it is widely observed, government funded institutions generally lack in quality of adequate faculty and infrastructure. This is because public education is the single largest expenditure for state and local governments for many countries. It is quite obvious that the government cannot provide education to all on its own.

Privately funded institutions for education and art are more popular as they are equipped with very good infrastructure, presentable faculty members and abundant facilities for children. This they provide, against the exorbitant amount of fees the parents pay. Many times it is observed that these private schools monopolize the sector and may even cut corners in terms of providing best quality teaching. Therefore even private institutions aren’t completely flawless.

In my opinion, the government should set aside a specific budget for art and education and should get involved with the private institutions in order to regulate their framework. This amalgamation can reduce the fees of private schools to a considerable extent which can enable even people of limited means to give their children a chance at better education.

Therefore, to conclude, neither fully private nor completely government funded institutions are the best for educating the children. Partially being funded by both the bodies can help build a better system of schooling.