Some people believe that if people are allowed to work after the age of 60, it could cause problems. Do you agree or disagree?

Working after the age of sixty is encouraged by some people, while others argue it could create different issues. This essay agrees with the latter notion that older adults should retire after 60 as they start experiencing health problems and also would not perform to their best.

Both physical and mental abilities decline after 60 years of age, on average, there are many concerns that an over 60 individual will start experiencing, such as chronic diseases and neurological disorders. Perhaps one cannot expect similar performance as a normal person. For example, according to the Times survey report, around 60% of retired individuals suffer from cardiac arrests and paralysis. Hence, in many countries, the average age of retirement is sixty years.

Another reason is that job demands eight to nine hours of commitment daily, which means family and personal time should be limited, to attain task completion, which can be anticipated from a younger generation, whereas a person who has completed his years of service and have retired, should focus on living a life following his dreams or spending time with his family. For instance, there are many retirement homes which offer a better quality of service to the elderly, especially health and recreational activities and also guide them with their future investments and business. However, there are exceptional professions which require experienced and abled experts such as research scientists and stock planners.

In conclusion, it is argued that senior citizens should be made to do work, but I believe that they have played their part and it is time for them to look after their health, family and conquer their dreams.