Some people believe it is important to allocate part of the school resources for arts and music education even if it means spending less money and time on academics. Write an essay (advantages/disadvantages)

There are a few people who accede that it is prominent to emphasize on the fields of arts and music in education even if it requires spending less money and time on academics.

To begin with the advantages, one can be affirmative in saying that the children are more responsive towards extra curricular activities such as dance, music, theatre, arts, sports, pottery, et cetera. Schools focusing only on academics might be a monotonous activity for those students who are innovative and have willingness to either express themselves or to acquire formal training and skills in a particular area to pursue their passion as a career. It not only increases the scope of education but also makes one independent. However, these skills are incomplete without acquiring basic education in academics.

On the other hand, schools cannot simply overlook the importance of academics. Spending less money and time on studies may hamper the aspects of brighter students. For instance, those wanting scholarships in higher education or students who apply for jobs related to medical fields where academics is their only goal. Hence, it is a drawback for them. In addition to this, low budget schools with less infrastructure and equipments may find it extremely evitable to spend money on the extra curricular resources like the instruments for music or materials for arts or for hiring personnel for the same. Furthermore, there could be children who come from a relatively medium or low income background who would not intend to spend money or time on music or arts. Moreover, some parents consider these activities as distractions, thus, making adverse effects on their children's education. The students might not be able to adapt both simultaneously at the same time.

Boiling down to, it can be said that both academics and extra curricular activities should be given equal weightage in schools. Therefore, a proper balance should be maintained as we deal with a mixed group of students in schools who are interested in both.