Some people believe that people who do physical work should be paid on par with the people who have high level degree. Do you agree or disagree?

To some individuals with growing standard of life, manual labors’ doing the most exhausting work seems to be underpaid compared to highly-qualified professionals. However, I would beg to differ claiming that it is highly-skilled employees’ performing the intelligence demanding tasks and robotization implementation in industry that keeps salaries of physical workers poorly-paid.

In no way common labor’s role in assisting industry development to be underestimated. It is no secret that qualifications issued by worldwide known educational organizations are no match to experience gained in semi-skilled work, such as CNC machining, assembling etc., performed in production field. To some of unskilled labor what moves them to foreman position, which is highest-paying occupation for unqualified personnel, is their inimitable knowledge and experience gained through years of routine work. A striking example is the Azerbaijani industry who try to keep these talents by any means necessary, therefore improving their salary package.

Notwithstanding such considerations based on various factors, jobs that generally acquire professional qualifications hold strong. Firstly, it is well-known fact that brainy jobs are the highest well-paid jobs therefore fulfilled usually by the highly-qualified personnel. The reason why manual labor cannot hit these opportunities is that they are totally unqualified for such positions. Secondly, with development of modern technology automation and mechatronics, robots do not let the value of labor work to go up. Evidence for in support of this position, can be found in the fact that in long term purchasing automated line for serial production is much more cost-effective than hiring unskilled personnel for same task with as much income as of skilled-workers.

In conclusion, although manual labor’s matchless experience gained by performing ordinary work for long period seems of higher value, highly-skilled staff doing brainy job making them extremely valuable than common labor and automated systems implementation inexpensiveness retarding the pay increase for unskilled labor will never let them to obtain competitive salaries as of highly-skilled workers.