Some people believe that people who do physical work should be paid on par with the people who have high level degree. Do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, blue collar and white collar jobs should receive the same remuneration. I completely disagree with the notion because a university degree demands from a person years of education as well as investing money, time and mental efforts in order to complete it.

Firstly, if a manual worker and a qualified individual end up earning the same amount of money, then the value of education will decline. People invest a lot of money in education hoping that one day they will have a promising career with a high pay package and if they see that the people with no qualification are also getting paid the same then they will lose interest in education.

Secondly, if physical workers are paid on equal footing with qualified professionals, nation’s progress will be negatively impacted. In other words, education is the foundation of a country’s development and if paid equally educated people will be less inclined towards pursuing education. Consequently, the economy would be in urgent demand of highly qualified professionals and lack of this workforce will eventually affect the country’s development.

Finally, with equal salaries, qualified group is more likely to become demotivated and it inhibits them to perform their best in their fields. For instance, if a construction worker and a scientist will be paid equal, there will be no motivation left for a scientist to put endless efforts day and night to make a research successful. He will also think of to spend only limited hours in carrying out scientific research.

In conclusion, the amount of pay should not be the same for manual workforce and highly qualified persons. Pay package should be based on the level of education and the experience of the individual.