It is said that people hold conflicting views about the purpose of education. While some inhabitants believe that education is responsible to prepare useful members of society, some others think that education should help its learners to achieve their personal ambitions. This essay is going to analyze the reasons behind these two views before showing why I favor both of these.

To commence with, the purpose of education to help its learners to achieve their personal ambitions is reasonable in some ways. First, each of us are different to the others because we have our own ambitions, and we always want to achieve them. For instance, at school, there are many activities to find out what students' ambitions are. Hence, teachers can help students with lessons related to their professions. Second, ambitions push everyone out of their limits. To be more specific, in order to make our dreams come true, we can not do any meaningless things, we must make use of every single second to come closer to our dreams with best efforts.

On the other hand, the purpose of education to prepare useful people of society has some advantages as well. In this day and age, due to the rapid development of the human being, we must be useful if we do not want to be left behind. Therefore, schools are considered to be the best sources of necessary knowledge for a global citizens. Moreover, personal ambitions sometimes can be useful for society. For instance, Thomas Edison had an endless passion for Physics, he fulfilled his own ambitions by bringing out such great inventions which changed the face of our society apparently.

All in all, education is responsible help its learners to become useful and to be able to achieve their ambitions. Educators should find the best way to balance these two elements.