Some people believe that school children should not be given homework be their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Millions of children are struggling with their homework these days. Many people argue that school assignment is not necessary for the youngs while the rests think that homework is a key factor in children’s educational path. Personally, I would advocate the latter opinion by discussing both views of this issue.

On one hand, the burden of doing homework makes the young generation have no time to enjoy life and develop social skills. In other words, nowadays, children have to spend the majority of their time in study, including studying at school and doing lots of teacher’s assignments afterward, making/leaving them difficult to find time for outside activities as well as communication with other people. Many research has shown that the young generation is suffering severe stress, isolation, mental disorders due to the lack of social interaction. Although those drawbacks of giving homework to children, there are more positive effects that make it a good educational method.

On other hand, practicing homework help students build a solid background and behavior/ an independent study habit. In fact, the learning process involves a lot of theories that make children difficult to grasp without practicing by doing school assignments. Moreover, by doing the teacher’s requirements, the youngs have a chance to develop task-solving/ problem-solving skills, including time management, healthy behavior, and discipline. As a result, children will progress both academically and professionally by doing what tasks are given by their teachers. For example, if I have not been doing tons of exercise related to English speaking and writing, I hardly speak and write even a word in the IELTS examination.

In conclusion, the statement that teachers’ tasks are not vital for children’s educational progress is completely wrong as it brings more positive effects in terms of building lifelong success for young people. In the future, the combination of study and practice is the fundamental ground when creating any curriculum all over the world.