Some people believe that social networking sites are not doing enough to protect users' privacy. However, others believe that it is not the responsibility of the sites; instead, users should be more careful about what they make available online.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Two days ago, I read an article about who is in charge of protecting private life on social networking sites. Some politicians state that these websites should take responsibility for providing it. However, some website designers claim that users should care about it themselves. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of obliging social networking sites to secure privacy.

Let us start with the reasons why some politicians argue that this sort of websites should protect confidentiality. The first reason is that they usually keep personal information in their databases. These sites can easily restrict the access to private details, such as photos and phone numbers, since they both store and grant permission in their own data centers. Another reason is that they let others browse the confidential information without alerting the owners by default. VK, for instance, leaves the information viewable on the web, which enable criminals to take advantage of against the owners, but if they made pages closed by default, users would feel protected. Therefore, after analyzing these reasons, it is clear that social networking sites should limit access to the personal data.

Nevertheless, some IT experts advocate that users should manage their personal information on their own. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, users should be entitled the right to decide what to do with their private information. People generally want to decide themselves to either open or close their front pages to the world, thereby it would be unfair, if these websites did it for them. Secondly, this type of websites often provide various safety options for users to choose from. Facebook, for example, allows people to hide their pages either partly or totally, so they can grant a limited number of people an entry to their personal life. As a result, after considering these arguments, it is obvious that people should be responsible for their privacy on social networking sites.

In conclusion, although some IT experts say that users should make a decision about the safety of their personal data, I believe that social networking sites should take measures instead of individuals for the above mentioned reasons.