Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.
Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.
The argument over whether learning at home or at school is better for children has not
been settled yet. Whereas home education offers better protection with individual
learning and opportunities for families to bond, schools have a superior range of material
and human resources. Ultimately, I think the school experience is best for children.
There are several advantages for children who learn at home. Firstly, they can spend
more time with their parents and siblings. Many social problems are associated with
families not spending enough quality time together. Teaching children at home also
provides them with an individualised learning environment. Instruction is custom designed
and moves at the child’s own pace and in accordance with his or her individual
learning style. Finally, home schooling protects children from bullies and others who
might be a bad influence.
On the other hand, the school environment also offers advantages for children. Schools
encourage children to socialise with their peers and learn how to cope with gossip,
bullying and peer pressure. In addition, children will receive better tuition across a range
of disciplines, as schools have teachers who are trained in special subjects. What is
more, schools provide better access to physical resources such as sports equipment,
musical instruments and library books.
I believe that children are better off in a school environment. Although family time and
individual learning are important, the range of expertise and resources that schools offer
cannot be matched in the home. School environments may present difficult social
situations, but so too does the real world and children must learn to navigate these on
their own.