There are many arguments showing that students are suggested to study every subject available at school, whereas others indicating that they should brush up on subjects that interest them. From my point of view, I believe that children should learn the basis for all subjects but pay more attention to those that they are good at.

On the one hand, students are supposed to study fundamental knowledge. It is believed that to learn everything is better than to learn nothing, which means that obtaining lessons only enrich their intelligence and everything that students might help them someday. For example, knowing which nutrients your food contains could assist people to plan up their menu for a day or studying Physics could allow them to use knowledge to fix electric currents in their household. Contrastingly, some students from the United States fail to understand basic knowledge such as geography and history, which eventually results in racist stereotypes, misunderstandings and discrimination. Finally, concentrating on every subject may be a positive opportunity for students to achieve higher average scores.

On the other hand, it is recommended that children should focus on their biased courses. Studying what students love not only boosts their motivation and productivity but also leads to improvement in their academic level. A student who is obligated to study what he cannot understand could soon lose his interest in that subject and fail to achieve high marks. Moreover, it is believed that being specialised in the subjects students love could orientate them towards suitable occupations. Admittedly, many high schools for gifted students, especially in Vietnam, have educated several potential students, and many of them have achieved awards in national and international academic contests, which develops their personal skills, gives them chances to broaden not only their knowledge but also their future and assists them to choose the right profession.

In conclusion, I would argue that while students should obtain knowledge from every subject, they are recommended to focus more on their favourite ones.