Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days crime rate has increased rapidly as compared to past. There is an urge to change the punishments and make them flexible or depending on the scenarios of crime. However, there is another school of thought which believes in fixed punishment for crimes committed.

In our society there are people who believe in fixed punishment for crimes. They believe that in order to maintain law and order, it is important to give punishment. If law and justice is situation based, than this will cause the process to become questionable and can be manipulated easily. Furthermore, they have an opinion that crimes can be reduced only by fear of punishment or else they will increase, if there is lenient approach.

However, on the other hand, there is an opinion in favor of having different punishment depending on circumstances of crime. As people believe that every crime and its factors are different from another one. Therefore, it is important to consider and think about different punishment styles, i.e. if a person commits a minor crime than he should be given a minor punishment. Moreover, if juvenile commits a crime and is given fixed punishment, this might lead to him becoming a professional criminal.

In order to prosper and contribute towards betterment of society it is important to consider different aspects that lead to a crime, it is important to consider the factors behind the crime and should be taken into account. In my opinion, in current scenario it is better to have different styles of punishments, which vary with the situation, rather than opting for fixed ones.