Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children)

Education is a fundamental building block for children’s development. Some people believe that a career-oriented education system is best for students. However, others emphasis on the community services and propose it to be an essential part of the high school programmes. I completely accord with it.

To embark on, it is said that to be a successful person, the prerequisite is to be a good human being and community service is the recipe for that. Firstly, children learn the meaning of selfless help, teamwork, and kindness. Moreover, helping unfortunate ones teaches us the value of easily available things such as food that we do not think twice before wasting. Furthermore, dealing with different types of people from distinct backgrounds helps in understanding discrete cultures better. Also, social service is not limited to serve the human fraternity. It is about doing something for the betterment of any living being. I personally worked for an NGO named as PAL to save the stray animals which led to a feeling of satisfaction.

However, it is argued that children may deviate from studies if they are involved in such activities, which can have an adverse effect on their careers. Therefore, it should not be included in the education system while many universities give extra points or scholarships to the applicants who have been indulged in such projects.

To conclude, undoubtedly, studies should be on the highest priority but not on the cost of life values. Both play an important role in personality and are vital parts of the overall development.