People recognize a difference between children and adults. What events (experiences or ceremonies) makes a person an adult? Use the specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Distinguishing between kids and grownups is a crucial process which is done by individuals in their own ways. A group of people thinks that experiences make an adolescent a mature. However, others argue that ceremonies are more important to do so. In my opinion, knowledge gained from life events, plays a major role in converting a teenager into an adult, not the ceremonies. This essay will discuss first the different meanings of the word adult and then the importance of experiences to create a difference between children and adults.

The definition of the word adult says - “a person who is fully grown or developed”. This explanation can be taken in distinct ways by different minded people. Therefore, some relate it to the age, while others understand it in term of mental strength. To explain it more, in India, it is a general thought that a married person is an adult and there is nothing to do with mental ability. To support this assumption it is argued by the society that the constitution itself has mentioned the age to consider a person an adult. Instead, as per my understanding it is more about how strong an individual is mentally and not physically.

Moreover, going to college, getting married or become a parent should not be the criteria for a person to be considered as a mature while, it should be how better a person can understand and handle difficult situations, how strong they are while taking important decisions in life and this can only be achieved by the experiences.

To recapitulate, ceremonies are the essential part of life but not the prerequisite to becoming an adult. One should concentrate on gaining experience which can only be the way to fight problems in life.