Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Art is the externalization of the individual skills and reflects the heritage of a country. At present, art seems to be losing it’s values due to less concerned by the government. A fair amount of people believe that spending on art is wastage of money while there are other burning issues to be addressed like education, development, employment, medical facilities, road system, infrastructure and the money should be spent to provide the basic facilities to the citizens rather than on art. I do not completely accord on it.

In my opinion, there are a plethora of reasons to give monitory support to art. Firstly, art is an expression of culture and the history of a nation. It is the real asset of every country that brings uniqueness and pride to every country. For instance, the temples of madurai in India has sculptures which show the Indian culture. Similarly, the elephanta caves demonstrate the religious part of Indian culture.

Secondly, A handsome amount of revenue income for the government can be generated from the art galleries and museums. Mesmerizing sculptures and beautifully engraved paintings adorn the beauty of the museum and attract tourists. The famous painting of mona lisa by Leonardo Da Vinci is a superb example of it which is the most visited painting in the louvre museum.

To conclude, art is an integral part of every country. Therefore, it should be the priority to preserve art. The government should fund the museums and promote artists’ values to keep and maintain the glorified history of the country otherwise artists and the art will be lost in oblivion.