People listen to music for different reasons and at different times. Why is music important to many people? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Every person on this earth has enjoyed music at some point of time in their lives. The reasons for them might be different and here I elaborate some of them. This essay will discuss the some benefits of music and then the importance of music to understand different cultures.

Music is a god gifted tool to the human fraternity to live healthy lives. It is an essential part of our lives as it provides enjoyment, helps to distress mind and body. It is a way to express our feelings that even a new born baby can understand. Moreover, it has been observed that music is good to improve concentration and that is why many pupils listen to music while studying. Furthermore, It is scientifically proven that music helps in treating many medical conditions like blood pressure, depression and several others. I can be a good example of it. 5 years ago I was diagnosed with a rare medical condition Lupus and my doctors suggested me to be happy as stress can promote it. Since then I started to listen to the music and we could see a tremendous improvement in my condition.

Moreover, music is an expression of culture and exists in some form or another in cultures all around the world. Music is a crucial part of ceremonies like weddings, funerals, child birth or any other festivals. For instance, in India, wedding is an event of 5 to 10 days which includes different ceremonies like “haldi”, “sangeet”, “maatipooja” etcetera and every ceremony has specific set of songs called as “Geet” in Hindi.

To recapitulate, music is important for us as it is an easily available source of entertainment and helps us to keep ourselves health and happy. Not only this, music is reflection of culture which make it easy to understand different cultures and their values.