Some people believe that what children watch on television influences their behaviour. Others say that amount of time spent watching television influences their behaviour.

Discuss both views and give own opinion.

Although one segment of society believes that behaviour of children gets impacted by the content, they watch on television, others think that it mainly because of the time they spent watching TV. Even though young ones become irritative if they spectate the TV for a long time, I believe behavioural changes mainly depend on the content that has been watched.

On the one hand, watching TV for a prolonged period of time can turn children into irritable personalities. That is to say that a TV screen emits blue rays and staring at it for a longer period can disturb the sleep cycles of kids. This results in sleep deprivation in children and further escalate into intolerant personalities. For instance, a research conducted by R. Hempbell, a professor in Perdue University, on 2000 children, states that children who watch more TV for 4 to 5 hours are more stressed in their daily lives. However, I do not support this viewpoint because, with new technologies, blue rays’ problems are decreasing, so does sleep deprivation.

On the other hand, content what the young generation watch on TV can turn them into offensive people. Nevertheless to mention that most of the content that was consumed by the children such as cartoons, movies, and videos often glorify criminal activities. Younger ones start imitating those questionable traits from the TV, thereby portrayed it in their normal lives and reinforce into their behaviors. To illustrate, a video captured by the police helicopters of a 16-year teenager rash driving the car. Basically, he was copying road rash from the movies. Therefore, this viewpoint should be conceived because children can learn harmful traits from violent movies and become harmful to society.

To conclude, due to long time staring the screen of TVs, children can become irritative and harm to themselves, however, I think watching inappropriate content not only make children violent but also could be a potential danger to society.