Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People of the world have so many different dieting regimens. While some enjoy eating meat and fish, others prefer to only consume vegetables and fruit with the addition of animal products in some cases. This particular group of people believe that not eating animal meat is highly beneficial to their bodies and to the environment as well. I personally disagree with that notion, but in this essay both views will be discussed.

On the one hand, some individuals consider slaughtering or catching animals for human consumption is very cruel since the animal is a free creature that should not be controlled or killed by people. Furthermore, they believe animal protein causes an increase in the level of amino acids in the blood which in turn causes some diseases such as hypertension and Gout. Another reason that is cited by advocates of that lifestyle is the fact that an Ecosystem is already in balance and does not require human intervention. Consequently, when people start catching or slaughtering animals they are disturbing that balance.

On the other hand, those who are comfortable with eating meat or fish believe that it is a right for every human being since those domesticated animals are being kept and fed in order to be used as food. Slaughtering cows, lambs, goats or chicken is a practice that has been carried out for centuries. However, It is fair to say that such practice has not disturbed the balance of the ecosystem. Also, animals slaughter is done in a painless and humane way so it can be argued that it is not extremely cruel after all.

In conclusion, following a vegetarian or a vegan diet is a personal choice for some who think it ripe with benefits for themselves and the world. However, I tend to disagree with their point of view and conveniently enjoy eating fish and meat.