Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

There is a controversial issue about the role of advertisement in society. Some social workers argue that it commonly causes people to buy superfluous items in stores, while merchandisers say that it can lead to an increase in quality of life. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agrees with the idea of life improvement.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers state that advertising promotes unnecessary purchase of shop items. The first reason is that people are usually reluctant to unadvertised products. Many buyers purchase expensive items, which they have watched on TV before, but they ignore unfamiliar alternatives of approximate quality. Another reason is that people tend to relate success to advertised products. Students, for example, tend to demonstrate promoted IPhone to their peers to show their seemingly high social status, so others also want to acquire the same mobile phone no matter how much they overpay. Furthermore, advertising attracts casual purchasers. Shoppers, who intend to buy some basic products, such as milk and bread, may fall a victim of advertisement promoting peripheral goods.

However, some merchandisers claim that advertisement grows standards of living. They justify their viewpoint by the following arguments. Firstly, it enables shoppers to choose high-quality goods. It is often difficult to pick the best product among a wide range of analogous products, but after watching TV, for instance, they can do it easily. Secondly, it helps people to be aware of new merchandises. People usually overlook newly presented goods in the market, because they heavily rely on the old ones, but with the help of advertisement, they can shift their attention to newly presented items with better characteristics. Moreover, it shows what other people opt to buy. Shoppers, who are under confusion by the variety of products, may make their choice, as soon as they get to know what the majority prefers through TV.

In conclusion, although some social workers think that commercial induce people to make unwanted purchases, I believe that advertisement increases the quality of life by informing of better options in the market.