Some people say that the government should not put money on building theaters and sports stadiums. They should spend more money on medical care and education. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial issue about the governmental expenditure on construction of theaters and sports stadiums. Some social workers state that authorities should use this money on supporting financially health care and education. In this essay, I disagree with their viewpoint.

Let us start with reasons why some social workers argue that the government should stop using money to construct theaters and sports stadiums in favor of medical centers as well as education. The first reason is that the existing facilities cover the demand of population. There is no need to build extra stadiums and theaters, since the current ones abundantly cover the needs of citizens. Another reason is that there is growing number of both patients and students in the hospital and colleges respectively. The government should build more hospitals and colleges with modern equipment instead of unnecessary buildings for entertainment, because current health centers and universities are extremely overcrowded. As a result, by erecting more hospitals and schools, patients and students would experience less inconvenience.

However, some politicians advocate that authorities should give a priority to the construction of theaters and sports stadiums. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, there are few places for citizens to spend their leisure time. Cities generally have only one theater, which is not enough for growing urban population, so it is reasonable to build more theaters to amuse them. Secondly, children need more sports stadiums to satisfy their curiosity for sports. More young people want to do various sports, but there are few places to meet their need. Therefore, governments should allow developers to put up more sports facilities, such as stadiums, if it does not want the youth to roam the streets.

In conclusion, even though some social workers believe officials should allocate more finances on health care and education, I think that it should continue to construct more theaters and stadiums as usual for the above mentioned reasons.