Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Most people are of the opinion that maximum time is spent on learning facts and stress is not given to learning practical skills in our education system from primary to university level. I completely agree that our education system focusses more on theoretical knowledge than practical skills.

Let us first start with primary level of our education system. In the primary school level, the curriculum focusses mostly on learning the alphabets and numbers but not on the skills like organizing skills or getting ready independently without help of parent. The kids are majorly dependent on the parent for almost everything. The middle school and higher school levels concentrate on various subjects like ranging from social science to science, mathematics and computers. These topics are completely theory and do not teach the kids social interaction and skills necessary for surviving alone in hostels when they would be going for higher education.

In addition to school syllabus, the college course majorly stresses on book knowledge than hands on experience in internships. The students only learn the concepts and have no understanding on how to implement the same in their office environment. Furthermore, they are not at all prepared to handle the office environment.