Some people say that in all levels of education from primary schools to universities too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

According to a section of the society,the education system focuses more on theoritical facts in comparison to the practical lessons. I agree with the statement as most of the students fail to perform well at a job after undergoing an entire course for the same subject.

The primary reason for lack of focus on practical skills contributes to low weightage of such skills during evaluation in examinations. The curriculam in all the universities or boards has been divided in such a way that practical exams only comprise of 25% of the total marks for a subject. this leads to more focus on the areas which help an individual score better marks.Moreover, teachers are also concerned about getting a good overall result instead of aiming for more understanding on a subject.Consequently, students give less importance to laboratory sessions.

Another reason which leads to low practical knowledge is the absence of equipments and electronic devices in the laboratories. The instruments used to conduct experiments are generally expensive and universities avoid investing an exorbitant amount of money. In addition to this,authorities prefer avoiding an mishappenings which could occur due to mishandling of chemicals in the researches.These should ideally be handled by proper training afrom the teachers.This approach has created a negative influence on the overall learning of the students.

In conclusion, the school authorities and teachers should focus on creating a better understanding in the students by conducting and demonstrating experiments themselves. Regular audits from the government can help in monitoring the situation of the eductional institutions.