Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Schools curriculum have a plethora of subjects including history and science and technology. Some proponents have a notion that history is crucial for learning, while other advocates that science and technology is more significant. This essay will discuss the necessity of educating both subjects.

There are myriad of reasons why learning history is essential. At the forefront, it apprises the story of our freedom fighters who lost their lives in war, and endless efforts by patriots to maintain peace and unity. For example, Indian history dictates how sagaciously Vallabhbhai Patel, the iron man of India, United India after independence when all states demanded to be independent countries. If he would not have taken this initiative, India would have fallen apart long time back. Moreover, it encourages the benevolent feeling of patriotism which rationalizes the importance of celebrating independence day every year.

On the other hand, the supporters for science and technology argue that it is the fastest growing sector and would be the only predominating sector in upcoming years. Plethora of machines are being created every year to reduce human efforts and countless experiments are underway. For example, HDFC bank has deployed robots at reception to greet their customers, this has saved significant human efforts. It is believed that the upcoming decade will be dominated by robots and scientific machines. Plausibly, the world will witness flying cars and commercial travel to space soon. Considering the usage of science and technology in future, people of this group emphasize on studying science and technology over history.

To pen down the compendium, if studying history familiarizes us with the past and makes us realize the importance of today, then science and technology prepare us for the future. It would be unfair to weigh one side as both are equally important for learning because without understanding our past, creating a future is baseless. In my opinion, schools should focus on teaching both subjects religiously thereby providing a mix of learning to students.