Some people say that the Internet is responsible for destroying the social skills of teenagers and young adults.

Why do you think the Internet is dangerous in this way and what can we do to ensure that it does not harm the social development of teenagers and young adults?

A recent survey has shown that maximum usage of the internet is by the younger generation. It offers many benefits in terms of providing information and enhancing communication. Undoubtedly, the web is a proud technology for the modern world, but few people argue that it is harming the social skills of the youngsters. This essay will outline the side effects of the internet and the solutions to deal with it.

Exposure to the internet is affecting the social development of teenagers. Most of them are having access to the computer and mobile phones to use the internet. It is in isolation, which leaves less time for interaction with the family or friends. The personal interactions are done digitally rather than face to face. It has adversely affected the social and emotional bonding between the family members. Parents should pay more attention to get access to to the internet and restricted hours should be practice at home. It will help in allocating dedicated time for family members to interact with each other, keeping away their digital devices.

The Internet provides access to harmful online material which is not suitable for the younger age. For example, the Internet is full of pornographic websites which are not controlled and impact the psychological development of the youth. The parental control should be placed on electronic devices to insure kids does not get exposed to harmful material.

The advancement of internet technology has changed the meaning of competition for youngsters. Their world consists of online gaming portals, which means no public speaking and outdoor activities. They feel more comfortable to take part in online games under an anonymous id instead of attending a public debate. This behaviour affects the overall personality development. To eradicate this behaviour, school and parents should engage youngsters in outdoor activities and public speaking forums. The outdoor activities will also lead the young generations towards a healthy lifestyle.

To conclude, the Internet is an essential resource, but we cannot ignore the side effects of technology. Parents and school should put an appropriate measure to ensure the development of the young generation is not affected.