These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The introduction of handheld devices and the internet has transformed our lives. It has changed the way we communicate, do business and access information. The boom of technology has undoubtedly more advantages than disadvantages.

To begin with, new technology has enabled people to contact their loved ones in a fraction of seconds. This is mainly seen as a benefit in the cases of long distances where mobile phones and instant messaging is a relief to stay connected with the person. It allows us to chat and share pictures and videos. Similarly, through the facility like webinars and video conferencing is used to organise a business meeting with people from different part of the world. It has eliminated the need to travel to attend the meetings. The advantages are seen in the personal and professional worlds.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of the internet and cellphones is that people get engaged in hateful debate with each other. Many times, people differ from each other opinions and express the same using social media platforms like Twitter and WhatsApp groups. Instant connection to the internet with mobile leads to many unlikely events being posted on the internet. Several cases are seen where people face insult and embarrassing situation by such acts of others. It invades the private life of others if not used appropriately.

In conclusion, the use of internet and mobile has entirely changed social interactions. More awareness and controlled policies can eradicate the disadvantages. It brings people closer and projects a transparent society.