It is often debated that learning a non-native language should be started right from the childhood rather from a secondary or high school level. But, I believe understanding a foreign language would always rely on the child’s analytical ability and enthusiasm towards it, and it doesn’t depend on the age at which he or she started.

Firstly, children who are in primary school are always open to learning anything new and it is told that their brain starts adopting any new skill taught, and adopts new activities every day. Biologically, brain would still be in development stage until 19 years of age, all through which it learns and copes up the things occurring around them. It will be a good time for them to begin learning a new language since the openness of their mind but if he or she not interested in the subject they are learning it would not really impact the age group they started.

Secondly, foreign languages like French, Arabic are already part of the curriculum in some parts of India. Even though inclusion of these languages made children aware of the dialect at a beginner level but none actually can understand the full semantics of it. Increasing popularity of local languages such Marathi, Gujarati in Northern states of India had made parents of many children to opt out of the optional foreign languages teaching in primary schools.

In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages remain equal weights which balance the theory of whether learning a foreign language at primary school or secondary school. But, learning any new language or skill will always depend on one’s interest and curiousness to learn the language.