Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that today, there is less intimate relationship between family members. I personally agree with this idea and discuss my reasons in the following.

As for some reasons, firstly, nowadays, people have more hectic lifestyle than in the past. As a matter of fact, in the modern world, in most families, both man and female spend more time at work either to lift their lifestyle or make their ends meet. In addition, children also spend a time almost six to eight hours in school to be educated. Beside, in the present era, a wide range of entertaining media such as television and social media have been developed to make people’s leisure time amusing and enjoyable. In fact, in most occasions, people especially youngsters prefer scrolling on such media instead of catching up with their parents or siblings.

Nevertheless, a few people oppose with the above idea. To support their side, they mention that in the sophisticated world, internet has widened out our communication. The main reason is that family members are able to keep in touch with their loved ones even in case, they live far away from them. Although this might be true to some extent, people are not able to make a strong intimacy with each other. In fact, according to some evidence, people are not able to make others to understand their feeling via internet. To explain clearly, people should talk with each other face to face to express their feeling.

To conclude, although recently, people are able to socialize with their family members in an eye flash as the internet and social media, in my opinion, the communication is not that much efficient. I personally think family members should spend their leisure time with each other to be more closer to each other.