Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a hot debate about what incentive people to learn a new language. One school of thought claims that the exclusive purpose of doing so is to be able to work and travel abroad. While others firmly believe that the reasons can be endless. In my opinion, while I understand and endorse the last statement, I think that the main motivational trigger for learning a new language is to be more competitive at a professional level.

Many people think that there are only two single reasons to study and master a new language, visiting and working in other countries. Knowing to speak a foreign language enable people to intensify their tourist experience, since they are able to understand and be understood local people. Moreover, those who are looking an international job experience should have a good command in one of the most spoken language (English or Spanish) to make easier their path to find a job outside of you own country.

On the other hand, others argue that people the motivational triggers are unlimited. It can range from achieving a personal goal to being able to sing a song in a different language. Although this is totally true, I think that be fluent in two or more languages is definitely a remarkable and distinctive feature in any resume. Employers often look for those job seekers who can offer, beside the specific skills for the job position, an additional value to the company, that is why those who are bilingual or multilingual are hired first or are promoted quickly. Thus, the essential root to learn a new language is to become more highly competent worker.

To sum up, the whys of learning a new language are not limited; by contrary, there can be a great variety of them. However, the most notable is without doubt to be more qualified within the job market.