Some people say Supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging for products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer's responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Presently, with increased focus towards safeguarding the ecology, people are getting increasingly sensitive towards measures to improve upon the production of waste. Packaging is one of the biggest menaces which is a by-product of civilization in this modern world. People, unknowingly are consuming heavy packaged products. This increases the disposable waste and hence adversely affect the environment. Here, we would discuss on the two important aspects to curb this menace.

Supermarkets, I believe, is a major point of sale. The part they play to influence the consumer cannot be undermined. It is of paramount importance to understand that a reduction in packaging in a regular consumed item will have a butterfly effect. For example, making a small change like replacing the plastic covers over bread by paper bags. What goes in favour is that the packaging is required to give that extra degree of safety to the product which sometimes is a demand of the customer.

Contrary to the thought in the above paragraph, there is also a section of people who base their thoughts on the prominent point, demand generates supply. This goes without saying, that the supply would reduce if a section of the consumer would neglect a certain product because of the excess packaging. Eventually, this would become a vicious circle which would result in the end of product life cycle.

Finally, both the above thoughts need to cohesively work to support the already disturbed ecological imbalance. Nonetheless, I also firmly believe and stand by the statement "Be the change you want to see in the world". In this scenario, the onus definitely would lay on us to safeguard our environment.