Some people say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become more disciplined. Others argue that teenagers shouldn't sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

We see a lot of students taking up part-time jobs in their leisure time and are financially independent. There is an argument, wherein few people are of the opinion that, this enables the youngsters to be more disciplined and provides them basic understanding of working culture, on the other side it is argued that they should not let go of their free time and post-school activities to job. We will discuss both side of the argument below.

Young adults taking up a part-time jobs enables them to have an early on understanding of the work culture, it becomes easier for them to communicate to people, they tend to lead a disciplined life and manage time well, they become financially independent which is very motivating and the most important of all they would be having a upper hand in career choices after they graduate as the hands on experience of the job adds more value to their resume.

Conversely, working students will have a stretched schedule, they would have many tasks to complete both academically and otherwise, and the pressure to excel in all of them leads to stress which in turn could reduce their performance. Also losing out on after school activities like sports, drama , community service , group discussions to name few among many would be in reality like cutting down on the most fun part of being a student.

Taking up job while studying may seem to make you more ready to enter the corporate world later but has its own downside as well. In my opinion we get to be a student or in university for a very short period of time of our life and making the most of that time and not losing out on any aspect of academics outweighs the benefits of taking up a part-time job.