Some people support the development of factory farming and the science creation of fruits and vegetables in agriculture, but others oppose to these developments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there have been breakthroughs in agriculture which has led to technological farming. While a number of people support this development, others are against it. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of factory farming and reaffirm my view which is opposed to it.

Firstly, the main advantage of using science for crop production is for mass production. While most fruits and vegetables are seasonal, this development allows for an all year round availability to meet the growing demands. For example, oranges, apples and lettuce grow at a particular month of the year and as such limits the availability. These seasonality has been addressed by technology which has led to a massive reduction in food crises around the world most especially in countries where they have experienced population explosion.

On the contrary, a major disadvantage is that the nutrients from groceries that were grown under such conditions have been proven to contain acidic contents which have an adverse effect on human health. This is because the produce were introduced to compounds which reduces the growth period. For instance banana takes an average of three to six months to grow and ripen however, with the introduction of certain compounds, it will take less than six weeks to grow and be edible due to the advancements in farming. In furtherance consumers of such fruits have a high chance of developing cancer due to the additives and shorter growth period.

To sum up, although there are benefits to factory farming such as increased production, there are drawbacks also which lead to health challenges. In my opinion, the disadvantages far outweigh s the advantages