Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In a modern independent world, every individual has the right to take their independent decisions. In aide to this notion, some people opine that children should also be given a freedom to make their own choices whereas others believe that kids are still immature to take a stand without guidance and the right to make choice will make them grow into selfish individuals. I am a strong advocate of the former opinion that a pupil should be able to take a decision for himself in the matters concerning him. In this essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints.

Right to make independent decisions benefit a kid in many ways. First and foremost, the advantage of this is learning. A person learns the most from his own mistakes instead from someone else teachings. Moreover, this would make an offspring strong and independent. For instance, if a child makes a wrong decision then the outcomes would also be borne by him which would eventually develop many personality traits like calmness, patience. On the different side, if a kid gets success, then his self-confidence would also increase. Furthermore, technologies are advancing at a much greater pace. In some scenarios, a generation gap leads to a knowledge gap as well. As kids are mostly aware of the latest trends; therefore, it is advisable to let them decide.

However, some people feel that there is an important downside to this. Students will become self-centered and will not be concerned about their family and the people around them. However, in such cases, parents and elderly people can guide the offspring to go on a right path and take a decision empathetically.

To recapitulate, the positive outcomes of the right to take self-decisions far outweigh its negative consequences. In my opinion, the freedom to make independent choices would help a kid to judge right or wrong. This would further improve his analytical skills and would make him a strong-willed adult; ultimately all this would benefit the society.