Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

People are calling into question the effectiveness of spending a long time in prison for lessening the crime rate. While some advocate the idea that it may prove beneficial for reducing mass, others dismiss it as another ways. Both sides of the argument present rational ideas, which will be elaborated.

On the one hand, supporters of longer prison sentences assert that the benefits accruing from them are by no means negligible. To begin with, placing criminals in prison for longer periods provides an opportunity for the prison services to train and rehabilitate the prisoners. That is to say, the criminals who receive rehabilitation and education programs are highly likely to make the right choices in life and be a better citizen in their future lives. For instance, someone who has committed a serious offence such as assault will need a long time periods of incarceration so as to be sure they can be re-educated not to re-offend. Moreover, longer prison sentences act as a deterrent for someone who are tempting to turn to crime.

On the other hand, others put forward the argument that the alternative ways are more effectual. The most compelling reason justifying their assertion is that lengthy prison sentences can lay the groundwork for putting together criminals and so their character will not improve. In other words, instead of spending long time in prison, offenders can be encouraged to involve in community services in order to progress their personality. More specifically, they can benefit from the opportunity to give something positive back to society. Furthermore, the government should focus on the roots of crime which would lead to less crime in the future. We cannot deny the fact that long prison sentences should remain for those who commit serious crimes such as murder and assault as justice for the victim.

To conclude, there are logical points on both sides. However, I am of the opinion that authorities should research to find various methods of crime reduction to protect innocent lives from brutal offenders.