Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime(misdeed, unlawful act, illegal act).Discuss both views and give your opinion

Criminal activities have been increasing over the last few years which ultimately affects society’s wellbeing. Due to this, several people think that to decrease this illegal acts extended prison sentences is the more appropriate way. While others with dissimilar thoughts think that there have been numerous alternatives which can be utilised. Thorough scrutiny of the above will lead to an insightful response.

While it is convenient to adopt one aspect over the other, I prefer to represent a counterbalanced ergo(accordingly)objective assessment. In my opinion, people, who have committed crime must be punished for longer period and most probably be secluded from community. However, to diminish the crime, finding the root cause and giving criminal a second chance play a significant role to improvise nation altogether. The subsequent two paragraphs will detail both aspects(constituents/ parts) extensively.

First and foremost, anyone from the society doing misdeed should be given a punishment which is frightening. So that other people around will be afraid of doing such illegal acts. Secondly, keeping these criminal minds away from remaining impressional minds, eventually, will help in demolishing the criminal thoughts. For instance, A study published in the crime magazine has proved that a frustrating prisoner could impact teenagers after their punishment is over, for the purpose of revenge.

On the contrary, second chance given in life could make a significant difference to someone or their immediate family who has gone through a difficult time. So, By identifying the reason of the crime and then accordingly deciding the punishment period is worthy. Furthermore, free voluntarily services from prisoners to improve society could also be an effective way to rejuvenate their own minds. Moreover, awareness campaigns also could help hand in hand in eradicating the root causes of the misdeeds. In support of the above, In Netherlands, prisons are managed in such a way that each and every criminal’s reason for the act is identified and then accordingly the improvisation procedures are followed.

Keeping all of the above-mentioned facts in mind, benefits such as keeping impressionable minds away from the affected criminals and balance between healthy community and unlawful activities are evident. In contrast, components such as another opportunity to criminals to be worthy to society and to decrease the root causes of the crimes are well worthy of equivalent consideration. To conclude, as is with most things in life, there are two sides to the matter. Fortunately, in this case, both of these can be constructive.