Some people think that companies and private individuals should pay to clean up the pollution that they produce, not the government.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The problem of environmental pollution and how to avert its detrimental consequences have been gaining a great deal of concern day by day. More importantly, whether the government or the people and businesses are to shoulder the responsibility to clean it up has turned into a controversy over time, which we will elaborate on both sides of this matter in the following paragraphs. As far as I am concerned, the government having the community collaborated, the financial accountability for alleviating pollution falls on the government in any country.

On the one hand, some people hold the opinion that pollution mainly roots in individuals’ and businesses’ indifference towards the environment. This group accuse people and companies of being inconsiderate and reluctant to do their part in conserving the environment regardless of numerous regulations set by the officials and unwilling to suffer the inconvenience arisen from the laws. Accordingly, it must be them who have to take the financial responsibility for saving the environment.

On the other hand, some people argue that it is considered amongst the government’s essential duties to take tough measures so as to abate pollution. Apparently, this outlook on the issue rides on a couple of different factors the most tangible of which is that the government has enough budget to carry out eco-friendly projects. Take utilizing green sources of energy or state-of-the-art methods to dispose of dangerous waste as an example. By the virtue of sufficient financial support, which must be provided by the government, one can easily adopt green approaches in an attempt to clean up or even prevent further pollution to the environment.

I for one, side with the attitude of having the government take care of the environment through providing the businesses with enough financial support and rising people’s awareness of how to play their role on the issue.

To summarize, there seem to be two different approaches to which party must take the responsibility of financial support to save the environment by removing the pollutants away from it. I strongly believe that the government has to budget for cleaning up the pollution. Only in this way can we prevent a catastrophic future of many and varied diseases brought about by dangerous pollutants in the environment.