Some people think that famous people can help international aid organizations to draw attention to important problems. Others believe that the celebrities can make the problems seem less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The role of famous people in raising public awareness has been a matter of great controversy to both individuals and societies. While it is argued that the famous people can make important problems become less serious, I believe that well-known people can help global aid organizations to attract much attention of the community.

On the one hand, many people consider that celebrities’ involvement can downplay the significance of problems. In an effort to attract the attention of society, a number of important people try to be involved in as many voluntary projects as possible without any real actions. As a result, this can devalue those projects’ problems. Secondly, once famous people’s image is damaged, the meaning and original purpose of aid programs will be no longer convincing. For example, a well-known person joins the campaign against using drugs, but he is caught using them in public places. For this reason, the purpose of this campaign is totally meaningless.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that it is more beneficial to famous person take part in aid programs. Firstly, they have a huge number of fans who are inspired by their actions. For example, when My Tam - a Vietnamese famous singer- took part in building schools for less fortunate children, thousands of youngsters from their fan clubs joined in this project by donating money and working as volunteers thanks to their encouragement. Secondly, celebrities can communicate and deliver information about big problems to a large audience around the world. For example, by taking part in the Ice Bucket Challenge in 2014, various celebrities such as Bill Gates, Emma Watson have helped the ALS organization to let millions of people know about a disease called ALS.

In conclusion, many people think that celebrities likely to make these problems become less crucial, it seems to me that well-known people have affected greatly in raising public awareness of community through aid programs.