In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it? Give your own opinion.

In recent years, after graduating high school, students tend to get a job or travel for a period of time before entering university life. Despite some disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by advantages.

On the one hand, there are a number of drawbacks to taking a gap year. The first drawback is that students are likely to lack knowledge, their study skills may have diminished. It is obvious that any course in universities requires a great deal of academic knowledge, especially courses involved in maths, physics and biology. As a result, students will find it difficult once they go to universities. Another negative effect is that they will have no motivation to returning study. Taking travelling for example, when students are busy exploring different countries and enjoying comfortable and free life, they tend to be tired and depressed due to continuing with their study.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, taking one year off is a great opportunity so that students can expand their horizon and gain more experiences. For instance, when students choose to leave a period of time before attending universities to find a job, they will be able to explore the job they love. Therefore, they will find a suitable course when registering in a university. Secondly, they will earn an amount of money to cover expenses such as textbooks, accommodation or even the first semester of their course fees.

In conclusion, I would argue that taking a gap year brings more benefits than drawbacks.