Some people think that the Internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities become more isolated.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The Internet has revolutionized the way of communication among people. It is generally argued that the Internet helps individuals to come closer to each other, whilst their counterparts assert that communities are becoming separated from its usage. In my opinion, I believe that although the Internet has some negatives on people, it is more beneficial in terms of an interaction between them.

A growing way of research suggests that the Internet brings closeness among people. Admittedly, it helps to make widespread relationships effortlessly. In other words, with the availability of the Internet, people nowadays are using social networking sites to chat, video calls with their friends across the world. Also, video conferencing is becoming popular in multinationals, to talk with their overseas clients for business partnerships. Taking Facebook as an example, the most common social media application, where people can not only make new friends easily but also converse face-to-face within seconds. Hence, online media has brought closeness by making the world a global village.

However, the Internet has some negative impacts on individuals as it increases isolation. It is due to the growing addiction to gadgets when people indulging themselves in the virtual world instead of a physical conversation with their surrounding people. It can cause social distancing which thereby bringing a gap in relationships. For instance, youngsters spend their whole vacation while watching movies online on Netflix, despite sharing quality time with their family and neighborhood. It leads to a communication gap and makes them isolated from nearby people and peers. Therefore, the given disadvantage of the Internet cannot be overlooked.

In conclusion, while the Internet has some cons on communities and people for making them insociable, yet I feel that its pros for combining people globally by building connections among themselves, could not be undeniable.