Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today. To what extent do you agree with the statement?

Education is being affected by the presence of technological gadgets. Thesedays; however, children are spending a lot of their time in front of the television, which makes them less knowledgeable, because a TV set cannot replace a book as a study material. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement as the negative consequences of television on children’s logical thinking as well as on their study, cannot be overlooked.

To commence with, investing a huge amount of time while watching TV can affect the academics of children. In other words, students who are keen to spend their time in front of the television, could not be able to concentrate properly on their studies. Consequently, their performance level in exams has affected. A recent survey on failure students in Finland schools has revealed that they had invested their off-school time watching movies, instead of doing homework. Owing to which, they have to suffer in their finals.

Furthermore, television has limited access to educational content for students in comparison with a book. To be more specific, if students read nothing but watch TV most of the time, they will not end up with great chunks of reasonable information, which is easily available in books. For instance, the majority of TV serials, cartoons, and films are filled with thrill and entertainment, despite having any historical details. Nevertheless, children could not gain ground knowledge regarding important happenings in the past.

In conclusion, while I believe that television can not only impact the children’s intellectual sense but also harms their academic performance. It is clearly mentioned that watching TV continuously, can drop scores along with basic essential knowledge of a student.